I’ll get by with a little help from my friends

@nigel, @Chook, @igeighty, @AdrianB plus you other stunt kite experts!  I recently took delivery of a Revolution Supersonic from Adrian.  It looks a really great kite in excellent condition. I’ve been flying various power kites now for over 25 years but this is my first stunt kite. Today I took it to my local oval for a trial flight. As per usual in Canberra, winds were gusty and not consistent but blowing probably between 5 and 12 knots.

I set up the kite but could only manage to launch it a few meters into the air before it either flopped forward floating to the ground or I managed to control it left or right in the wind window but could not turn it and it floated to the ground again. I seemed to have no positive control.  Despite google, I’m still not sure which side of the kite the vertical bars should be? I had them on the front of the kite. To be absolutely sure, I consider that this is the side facing me on launch. I changed them to the back of the kite and it seemed a little better but still no real control. Bridle is in good condition and lines are all the same length.  Is it my skill level, the wrong set up or just inconsistent wind? Appreciate any advice. Cheers to all.

Gday Mate,

The vertical spars should be on the rear of the kite. a steady wind is much easier to learn.

you will find that you will need to be quite gentle on the control, with much smaller movement than a foil.

The rev responds best to small precise movements, and that will come with practice. I hope we can get to have a fly again soon.

Always keep it in the car, they do make a great carpark kite.

stick with it, :)