The Solus has landed...

KaoS

Hi Kevin

how are they in the flesh, what do they fly like?

Mike

Hi Mike

Still waiting to fly mine, wind down here is super strong ... :boredom:

I might get to fly it this weekend, I'll be at the Kirra Kite Festival in Qld. Hopefully the wind will be perfect (fingers crossed). I'll report back as soon as I get a good session on the lines :good:

Kevin

Willunga, S.A.

Solus standard maiden flight.

Kite arrived Monday (thanks Kevin) I've been chaffing at the bit since but mother nature had other plans, but with the wind 10 to 15 knot this morning I hooked the Solus to some 100 x 90 lines and with a big grin launched.

I am no expert but I know what I like and the Solus is nice, all the normal stuff like axels, half axels, cascades as you would expect + some, the roll ups even in the stronger wind was very nice.

After exhausting my limited trick list I couldn't find a trick that it didn't like.

One thing that I noticed was that it can turn very sharp as if it's pivoting around the tail I don't know the technical term but this trait it very much like my R-sky Frenezy Evolution.

Build quality of the kite appears very good and the frame is all Skyshark as you would expect, the only odd thing is the tail weight, it's a flat piece of lead (I assume) and wrapped in velco and it fits between the spine and tail flap. It works and easy to changed if you so desire, I am just use to weights that slide onto the spine.

On first impressions the Solus standard has a nice feel and responds well and should help me extend my trick list, I am looking forward to flying it on shorter line with a bit less wind (all that running up and down the beach wears you out).

post-6746-14336631442373_thumb.jpg

Cheers

Mat

Port Augusta